oeha awards - 2003

Sanitarian of the Year
Joe Fowler - Joe has managed an environmental health program that consistently performs at the highest levels of excellence. His professional approach to program management, as evident in staff retention and program growth and quality of provided services, has also gained the respect of his peers, elected officials and the food service industry.
Vern Reierson Meritorious Service Award
Ken Kaufman - Oregon Health Services toxicologist. Ken has retired after over 30 years as a Registered Sanitarian and OEHA member. Ken has served in just about every possible Environmental Health position at the state, and has earned statewide respect for his knowledge and professionalism.
Ray Ruff Editorial Award
Anne Rossignol - As a professor in the Oregon State University Environmental Health program, Anne has had articles published in many professional journals, and has worked with her students to encourage them to submit research articles for publication.
Ci Sherman Legislative Award
Linda Fleming - Linda is the former Jefferson County Public Health Administrator (and current mayor of Fossil) who serves as the Executive Director of the Conference of Local Health Officials (CLHO). She worked very hard on behalf of CLHO and county EH programs to transform House Bill 3651 from a county EH disaster to a very positive piece of legislation.
Award Criteria and Purpose